A Place I Am Determined to Visit #001: Salar de Uyuni, Bolivia

I love traveling. because:

1) I feel like I have escaped from the societal pressures.

2) Looking at beautiful landscapes remind me to fear God, who created it all, and humble my position as I physically see how small I am compared to Him.

3) Right now, I am kind of tired of this smog-infested city of LA that has kindly gifted me with allergies. *sniff sniff*

4) My dream goal is to travel all around the world to pray for the sick and help heal the wounded.

I just love the idea of going out to the unknown and discovering parts of the world that have been almost nonexistent to me. It can be scary for sure but it’s so exciting too.  Also, I just love to relax and soak in the beauty of nature.

So, I am determined to start saving money and crossing out the list I am about to compile in this blog. I’ll add more places as I am sure I will learn more of those that are travel-worthy.

The first place that has captured my heart is:

Salar de Uyuni, Bolivia

How beautiful is that picture?!

Salar de Uyuni is basically a salt flat, located in a high altitude of about 3600 meters above sea level! O_O That’s high. If you need a comparison, Mammoth Mountain is located 3371 meters above sea level. At least, the road to Mammoth is decent. I heard that the drive up to Salar de Uyuni is terrifying. But, seriously! Look at that picture! It looks like you’re walking on the sky! Unfortunately, the flat doesn’t look like this any time of the year. If you go to Salar de Uyuni in May, it will look like this:
Salar de Uyuni  Bolivia

I mean, it’s nice but, I’d rather go during March to April to see the mirror reflection of the lake shown in the first picture.

When I go, I want to travel different places in Bolivia as well – maybe for around a week? Not so sure yet. I want to eat Bolivian food and just learn about Bolivian culture from the people there… In order to do that, I should brush up on my Spanish skills f’sho! :P

Posted on January 29, 2012, in Places to Visit and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

